Mac single user mode applesetupdone

Setup Assistant is also run with root privileges, which is why it can create a new user account with administrator privileges without the need for any authorisation. To remove this file, we need to boot the Mac into Single-User Mode. This provides a method of interacting with OS X via the command-line, with full root privileges. After a few moments, you'll see the Mac boot to the command line.

Remove account in Single User mode - ITKB - Confluence

Before continuing, the filesystem must be checked and mounted, so files are't immediately accessible to interact with. To do this, enter the two commands that are displayed within the prompt, one at a time. With the filesystem mounted and accessible, it's time to remove the file so OS X will re-run Setup Assistant:. After that, simply enter reboot and your Mac will restart and boot normally.

Can't Log in to Your Mac? Create a New Admin Account

Only this time, Setup Assistant will launch. By now, you're probably wondering why should this be even possible, since someone may use this to gain access to a Mac.

What Setup Assistant Does

Indeed, re-running Setup Assistant would certainly allow for an unauthorised person to create a new account with administrative privileges and gain access to the Mac along with your data. In terms of security, physical access trumps almost every method of preventing unauthorised access not involving encryption.

While a little more complicated with the SSD technology Apple uses in their product lines, access to your data can easily be done simply by removing the Mac's storage device and connecting it to another. This is where encryption methods such as Firmware Password and FileVault 2 are useful. With a Firmware Password set, it must be entered if the Mac is being booted either into Single-User Mode or to another boot volume.

FileVault 2 takes this one step further by performing full disk encryption, preventing any form of access to your data unless authorised by entering your user account password - even if the drive is removed and attached to another Mac. Guides Ebooks About Follow Contact.

What Setup Assistant Does Setup Assistant is designed to run on the first boot of a fresh install of OS X, which is why you'll only see it when booting up a a brand-new Mac or one that has been erased and had OS X reinstalled. Why Bother? AppleSetupDone reboot Your Mac will restart and you need to go through the entire setup process as if it was a brand new Mac.

Your Answer

Don't worry, all of your pre-existing data is still available. Just go ahead and it will let you create a new Administrator account.

Once you're logged in to the new account, you can reset forgotten Mac password of your original account through System Preferences. Power on your Mac. Immediately hold down the Command and R keys at the same time until you see the loading bar appear under the Apple logo. Click the Utilities menu at the top of your screen and then select Terminal.

How To Repair An Imac Hard Drive With Single User Mode ( Tutorial ) : OSX MacOS

At the Terminal window, type resetpassword and hit Enter. This launches the Reset Password screen, which asks you to select an admin user you know the password for. Just click on the " Forgot all password " link. The next screen will list all user accounts on your Mac.

How to Reset Forgotten MacOS Mojave Password without Admin Account

Just click the Set Password button next to the account you want to reset the password for. In the pop-up window, enter the new password, confirm it, and click on Set Password. Now you can restart the Mac from the Apple menu, and login with your new password. All Rights Reserved.